Monday, January 4, 2010

NHL Awards at the Half Season mark

The NHL season has just passed the halfway point in the season and we at TML Fan Fury have decided to take a look at who deserves to win the NHL Awards at the halfway mark of the season. There have been a few surprises and some things have stay status quo but for the most part this season, after watching numerous games this season this is our call.

Agree or Disagree?

Jack Adams Award (presented to the leagues best coach)

Winner- Joe Sacco (Colorado Avalanche)
Finalists- Dave Tippett (Phoenix Coyotes), Jacques Lemaire (New Jersey Devils)

Frank Selke Trophy (presented to the top defensive forward)

Winner- Patrick Marleau (San Jose Sharks)
Finalists- Rene Bourque (Calgary Flames), Mike Richards (Philadelphia Flyers)

Lady Byng Trophy (given to the league's most gentlemanly player)

Winner- Martin St Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning)
Finalists- Brad Richards (Dallas Stars), Zach Parise (New Jersey Devils)

Calder Trophy (given to the rookie judged top in the league)

Winner- John Tavares (New York Islanders)
Finalists- Matt Duchene (Colorado Avalance), Tyler Myers (Buffalo Sabres)

Norris Trophy (awarded to the top defensemen in the league)

Winner- Dan Boyle (San Jose Sharks)
Finalists- Duncan Keith (Chicago Black Hawks), Mike Green (Washington Capitals)

Vezina Trophy (presented to the league's top goaltender)

Winner- Ryan Miller (Buffalo Sabres)
Finalists- Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils), Ilya Bryzgalov (Phoenix Coyotes)

Hart Trophy (awarded to the player judged best in the league)

Winner- Ryan Miller (Buffalo Sabres)
Finalists- Marian Gaborik (New York Rangers), Henrik Sedin (Vancouver Canucks)

First Team All Star

G- Ryan Miller (Buffalo Sabres)
D- Dan Boyle (San Jose Sharks)
D- Duncan Keith (Chicago Black Hawks)
RW- Marian Gaborik (New York Rangers)
C- Joe Thornton (San Jose Sharks)
LW- Alexei Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)

Second Team All Star

G- Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)
D- Mike Green (Washington Capitals)
D- Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings)
RW- Patrick Kane (Chicago Black Hawks)
C- Henrik Sedin (Vancouver Canucks)
LW- Dany Heatley (San Jose Sharks)

No comments:

Post a Comment